Facebook Friends Payment Scam Alert

A scam which was taking over £1,000,000 per day in the US back in April has recently appeared in the UK. Fraudsters are using the stolen login details of Facebook accounts to send messages to Facebook friends asking to have the proceeds of selling a camera on eBay sent to their PayPal account because they have a problem with their own. When the victim agrees the funds appear in the PayPal account, the victim then transfers the funds to an account controlled by the fraudster, then the initial credit is reversed, so the victim now has a negative balance on their PayPal account. The scam works because PayPal has a charge back system allowing disputed payments to be reversed.

DO NOT ALLOW ANYONE TO USE YOUR PAYPAL ACCOUNT

Tips and Advice

  • Secure your account – Turn on 2 factor authentications on all your accounts, this means you will be sent a text message or an email with a code to use whenever you login to your account. To do this Login to PayPal > Click on Settings Logo (top right)  > click SECURITY > click 2 -step verification
  • Personal means private! – Do not divulge personal details unless you are certain who you are communicating with
  • Report it – to PayPal by emailing spoof@paypal.com, and to Facebook at phish@fb.com
  • Contact – your bank or credit card company if you have already given out financial details
  • Still Unsure? – Call Reassura 0800 888 6400 and one of our fraud advisor’s will help you to stay safe
  • To report a fraud – and receive a police crime reference number call Action Fraud on 0300 123 2040 or use their online fraud reporting tool

 

If you have found this article helpful please share it on Facebook or Twitter to help others stay safe from scams and fraud.

Never miss a Scam Alert – Sign-up here, it’s FREE